Dungeon Poker

We will collect rule clarifications here about topics that have been asked about, or those that we believe might raise questions or require clarification.

Player Characters

Does the Barbarian have to pay the blind first and only then raise 2 x blind, if he uses his special ability?

Yes, he must pay the blind first – similar to how you must first fill the pot in a limit game.

If the Cave Troll goes All-In in preflop, can she regenerate at the flop?

No, she cannot – the Cave Troll is All-In, so she does not have a turn of action at the flop. The card states clearly that Regeneration occurs at your turn of action, so when you have none, she does not Regenerate.

Does a player have any turns of action, if all the other players are All-In?

Yes, the player has a turn of action. If the player is not All-In, the player always gets a turn of action at the beginning of a stage even if all the other players are All-In. This is significant, because the player may use their special abilities or new players (monsters) might still come into play.

If there are multiple pots, where does the Rogue steal his gold from?

Sometimes there is a situation where the Rogue uses his Ambush & run ability,  and there are multiple pots in play. In these situations, the Rogue takes half of each pot, always taking first from the main pot. If there is a situation where a side pot has so much gold that half of it exceeds 3000 gold, you must do the following: First take half of the main pot, then from each side pot, take the amount that is half from the smallest side pot. After that, take as much from each side pot as would be the half of the second smallest side pot. Continue doing so, until the Rogue has 3000 gold. Please note that it is impossible for the Rogue to take more than half of any side pot (!). 

Does the Cave Troll have to use her special action for Regeneration?

No, she does not have to use her special action. If a player character may do something at her own action, but it is not an activated ability, the player does not have to spend a special action to do so. Nevertheless, the player may only resolve this effect at their own action.

What happens if Bard gives hidden card to the table or to the other player?

If Bard gives hidden card to the table, it will stay hidden there (face down). If Bard gives hidden card to the other player, it also stays hidden. When Bard draws random card from the one player who has hidden or open cards, all cards of this player will be shuffled and she draws one of them. That player Bard draws a card from, must then turn open the one card from his hand that was previously open (If he still has this card). If he had any hidden cards, he must put one of his cards “hidden” in front of him. That player was able to see those cards though…

Encounters

During Utter horror, is it possible to play the ace as number one even without it being part of a 1-5 straight?

Yes, the ace may be played as either one or 14 at all times.

During Eastern bazaar, do you have to use a special action to buy a card at pre-flop?

Yes, you have to use a special action. As written in the rule book, you must expend the use of a special action.

Treasures

Full Plate during Utter horror – is it really that bad as it seems to be?

Yes it is – thematically, you cannot escape from the horrors of the night in your mail of armor. You always have at least 88.

Amulet of Luck – do you have to use your special action to use this artifact?

Yes, every time you use an activated artifact ability, you must use your special action, unless otherwise specified.

Sword of Power – do you have to use your special action to use this artifact?

Yes, every time you use an activated artifact ability, you must use your special action, unless otherwise specified.

Amulet of Luck – if you have more than two hand cards when using the Amulet of Luck, do you get two, or as many as you had before using it?

You get as many cards as you originally had, before using the Amulet of Luck. If some of the cards are open, the new cards will also be open to that extent.

Spyglass – is it possible to look at other cards in a deck than the topmost one?

No. You may only look at the topmost card. You may not delve deeper into the deck.

Monsters

What happens, if Happy the clown appears in the showdown?

If there are more than one player participating in the showdown, follow the normal rules. But, if there is only one player participating in the showdown, draw two cards to the Happy and it plays with those cards like normal two card monsters. 

Universal rules

What if the main deck gets empty during the deal?

If at any time the card can not be drawn from the main deck, this deal ends immediately. The showdown phase begins, and the players must show their hand cards, and the winner of the deal will be decided.